For the issue essay on the GRE.

PROMPT: As people rely more and more on technology to solve problem, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Has human ability to think for themselves deteriorated with the advent of technology? Walking down the street, most people are entangled in their cell phones, whether texting, navigating, or obsessing over one of the many social media platforms. Human are undoubtedly reliant on technology to accomplish tasks and it has obviously impacted our ability to problem solve on our own. Of course, one may argue that technology in fact allows for the human race to allocate their efforts towards more complex work, resulting in increased innovation and research. Still, humans have a duty to apprehend the fundamentals of mathematics, basic geography, grammar and spelling; yet, we increasingly rely on technology to solve these problems. These basics are at the core of our existence and it is critical that humans continue to think for themselves with technology serving as a catalyst for growth rather than a break or decline in that growth. Therefore, as humans continue to rely more on technology, it only stunts our potential as a race by diminishing our individual abilities.

Simple calculations are a prime example of humans substituting technology for individual thought. A basic calculator can be found in a moments notice, whether on cellphones, computers or even voice activated options sure as Apple’s Siri. There is little need for us to memorize addition and multiplication tables as we once did in elementary school because it is often easier to pull out our technology. Even at a supermarket, cashiers are not required to know mathematics the way they once had to because the register does the calculations for them. But, what if our cellphones, computers and cash registers were not functioning that day? How would our society survive? Since we have not exercised that portion of our brains for quite some time, it is expected that our normal daily functions would slow down, while we reach for a piece of scratch paper to attempt the calculations on our own. Point being that as humans rely more on technology for simple arithmetic, our own abilities to perform these basic functions decline.

A similar example to the calculator is the advent of electronic navigation systems. These days, one can plug in just about any address into their car navigation system and get there without a single thought. But again, what happens if your navigation malfunctions? Does anyone know how to use a basic map or how to determine if they are traveling south, north, east or west? Most individuals would be unsure of what to do and would most likely opt for an alternative piece of technology to help them solve this problem, such as one of the many navigation applications on their phone: Google Maps, Waze, etc. Of course, navigation systems have provided a great deal of convenience by estimating traffic and calculating the fastest routes; yet, nonetheless, humans should know how the navigate without it. Navigation systems albeit serve as another example of human inability to think on their own and a dependence on technology to solve problems.

Electronic health records (EHR) have increasingly replaced written medical records in many private doctor’s offices and hospitals as a way to provide organization and consistency; however, this innovation has also deteriorated a physician’s ability to diagnose pathology and relate to patients. Physicians far too commonly rely on the question prompt within the EHR, not allowing for their individual creativity and logical way of thinking to lead them towards the diagnosis and treatment. Instead of focusing on the patient’s chief complaint, they get carried away by filling out every blank box in the EHR. Furthermore, physicians tend to face the computer monitor without engaging with the patient; resulting in poor communication. While many studies indicate the benefits provided by EHRs, it is clear that physicians are all too reliant on this technology, deterring from their ability to critically think the way in which they were trained to do.

While technology provides many conveniences, it has also resulted in human dependence. The ability of humans to problem solve on their own has greatly declined since the advent of technology. Many argue for the plethora of benefits that technology offers and those benefits are unquestionable, it is also important to recognize that the human condition rests on fundamentals that are being replaced by it. Calculators, navigation systems and EHRs serve as examples of technology that humans have become attached to and thereby result in an inability to complete tasks without.