It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In d

The statement tries to claim the one side of the coin that is to compromise or abandon your belief would be far more hurtful than trying to have trust in what you believe. I somewhat up to an extend agree with the statement, however the other side of the coin that says you sometimes need to let go of your beliefs in order to gain something or do something that is more judicious than just being egoistic and following it blindly.

In favour of the claim, from early stages of schooling we are taught that we must keep our confidence and faith in what we believe. Various social and economical problems faced during our lives will need Self-Confidence as a vital component to overcome these hurdles. At some point of our lives, we all face situations in which we are required to go with our gut feeling and trust our senses. Short term decisions are often to be taken with our own understanding.

For example, a men was playing “Kaun Banega Crorepati” that is a famous quiz show that involves famous Indian actor Amitabh Bachan as host which has a prize money of sum of one crore rupees. He was on the last question which if correctly answered would win him the prize money. However he was confused between two choices and decide to go with option against to his gut feeling leading to his loss. Then he declared that if he would have gone with his faith, it could have changed its fortune.

However the example also reminded us of the other side of the coin, what if he could had got the right answer? Then it would had changed the story. We often ignore the beliefs or claims of others that contradicts our own beliefs which might be true. Human Beings are moved by the virtue of egoism. After achieving taste of success, People often start believing that they can never be wrong. Sometimes keeping our faiths and believes asides and listening to far more experienced people can increase our chances to gain more than originally. Unlike short term decisions, Long term decision have privilege of time to think, discuss with others and then aptly decide the most suitable option.

On discussing the claim up to my understanding, I can infer that we should to first of all try to understand the situations, examine the options and then make the most appropriate decision rather than going with our instincts unless neccesarry to obtain admirable outputs from the given situations.