Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Laws form a strong framework within which society functions, meaning that well thought out laws and their correct implementation are of utmost importance for the smooth functioning of any society (institutions, offices, states. countries). This is precisely why I believe that judicial systems should take into account the circumstances, times and places involved in the lawsuit while delivering justice.

One size fits all may work for a pair of socks, but that sure isn't the case with laws. For example, taking a look at a financial crime, more specifically, that of not repaying a loan, a daily wage worker who has been unable to secure any sort of work for the past few months cannot be weighed in the same scale as a rich businessman who has not been paying the loan installments despite a boom in business. The same laws cannot apply to both, because while for the former, not repaying the loan is because life is a struggle to fill the stomachs of the family everyday, for the latter, it is just a way to add more zeroes to the bank balance. Punishing both in the same manner would be unjust and go against the very doctrine laws follow - justice.

To further my point, I would like to illustrate another scenario. Consider a person who murdered someone in a cold-blooded, calculated manner over some petty feud. Now, consider another person who has also murdered someone, but accidently or in self defense, after the other person attacked first. Even though both of them have blood on their hands, applying the exact same laws to both the situations would result in destroying the life of the second person over something that was not even their fault.

These two examples create a strong case to solidify my claim that laws should be flexible enough to take various factors into consideration. However, taking a look at the flip side of the coin, in most situations it can become very difficult to verify and strongly establish the facts stated by the accused in order to get a clear picture of the circumstances, times and places involved. This can therefore be used by people to twist laws to their own benefit. So utmost care and scrutiny must be undertaken while making laws flexible according to the parameters of individual cases.

Finally, everything boils down to one thing - critical analysis and logical thinking of the case in all angles, taking into consideration all its different parameters before passing any judgement, so that justice prevails above all. This is only possible if laws are flexible enough to treat each case uniquely and mete out correct justice to those who seek it.