Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The author states that in the modern world, mass media and the internet have made distracted people which has led to their shorten their attention spans. Though this has shown positive effect it has reduced the capability of people to focus on one thing. But on the other hand can choose a important thing in all the excess information that is available on the internet and mass media. The author's statement is partially correct.

In the first sentence it states due to introduction of mass media and the internet people are attentive only for short spans, which is not actually a bad thing as one has developed the capability to differentiate between what is good or bad? or the suitable or appropriate things and the irrelevant things. So shortening of attention span is a good thing.

It is stated that the technology has overall positive effect as we can see in the today's world most of them are using smartphones which has access to the internet and also mass media which has made everyone of us alert about what is happening all around the globe. So while accessing the mobile and it's useful features a person might not focus on one thing completely but has developed the ability of multitasking.

As it says one can less focus on one thing but it helps in analyzing and having a bigger picture about a certain topic and then choose what is the right option or opinion, which is possible because of their capability to sort through large quantities of information.