The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author have stated that the manned space flights are very costly and dangerous and also very risky for any man's or woman's life. He suggests that from the success of the unmanned satellites we were able gather too much useful information without risking the life of any man or woman.

The author have made an assumption that the scientists and the aeronautical engineers know everything about the space and exactly knew from the before where and how to fix the satellite in the space. But in reality, the astronauts who went in the space in the past by risking their life have gathered the useful information required and proving helpful for the present day scientists to make the necessary changes.

The author says that the unmanned space satellites are not dangerous at all, but there can be certain faults which can lead to explosions or failures and also waste of money. By sending manned space crafts the man can study above any certain planet and life on it personally after landing on it.

Unmanned space satellites can just gather the information that we receive through signals, but man can study the planet environment and chances of human survival then come to conclusions which can't happen in the case of unmanned satellite.

Investing only in unmanned space flight will stop expanding the R&D sector, and there won't be any research and new discoveries about the space revealed. So, it can be better to carry on both.