A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Some people believe that a nation should require all of its pupils to study the same national curriculum before college, while others don’t. In my opinion, a government should not require all of students to participate the same syllabus, rather encourage them to do so for two reasons.

First, the wherewithal has always been a crucial consideration, especially in the rural area, because resource is inadequate to follow the same courses suggested by the government. For example, Tai-Tung, a faraway county of Taiwan, most elementary or junior high schools have less than one hundred people and no more than ten teachers. Apparently, the above instance demonstrates that there are not enough faculties to carry out the same syllabus as those of big cities abundant in faculties. If a government is going to execute the policy, then it must pay the additional equipment and recruit more teachers. Therefore, it has a negative impact on finance of a nation with limited benefit since it only benefit minority, not major part of students.

Secondly, not every student is apt to take the same syllabus. Some students already find their talents or interest, so the irrelevant curriculum distracts them from their major. For instance, the most famous and the best woman chess player, Hen-Jaja had aborted her academy after junior-high school. Because she already found her life goal and target as a professional chess player, she decided to devote herself into chess after then. She had won a lot of championship in the world-class competition. She had earned 30 thousand dollars from bonus when she was only seventeen years old. If Hen-Jaja had been forced to take the courses following the national guide, then she would not be successful in playing chess. Thus, the universal syllabus is not the best way to nourish its young people.

Finally, the naysayers may argue that the breadth of knowledge is more imperative than the depth of it before college because it helps pupils to investigate their interests. Of course, such exploration is essential because it motivates and intrigues them to study further. If they are impassioned in studying something, then the success rate is likely to increase. If they succeed and make contributions to the society, then a nation will benefit from it. Moreover, most adolescents do not find their interest before college. Therefore, the best way to compromise between those who has already set up their mind and those who don’t is encouraging them to participate the recommended syllabus instead of forcing them. Despite barren schools are unable to offer the counterpart material, they could collaborate and share wherewithal with others.

In conclusion, the recommended curriculum is the better policy for the government to carry out, it not only offers opportunities of interest investigation for young people, but also has feasibility for little schools and flexibility for talented pupils.