A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

How much of the calculus we studied in schools do we remember? Not much would be the answer in most of the cases. But at the same time we cannot remember a day without calculations.

Consider a example of a student who wants to become an artist or dancer or musician when he grows up. Now if any country has a common national curriculum, he would be expected to study biology, history. He might not even be interested in studying those subjects. But since the school requires him to study them in order to get good grades, he would be forced to study them. So he would be investigating a substantial amount of time in learning those subjects in order to pass his examinations. He might just cram things for getting good grades, forgetting the things he learnt after some time. Instead, had he invested that time doing things he really likes to do he would have gained much output from it. A person who wants to wants to be a dancer, should take up dance classes. A person who wants to be a singer should undertake dance classes. This would ensure that their energy is channelized to get some productive output.

But simply skipping some subjects can have some negative ramifications. Suppose a person who was not good in Mathematics in school is given the option of

skipping the subject, he might not learn simple operations. Mathematics gets indirectly used in our daily life. For example, when we shop something, we are required to deal with addition, subtraction in currency. A student who does not know these basic things might find it hard to survive. So I think a basic level of knowledge in all fields is required. So the curriculum should include subjects which we use in some way or the other.

So I think, there should be a national curriculum which students are required to study. But the curriculum should be designed so that the things that are included are useful to them. They should not be spending their time in cramming unnecessary things which don't get used in their later lives.