A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The prospect of require a strict progression of classes has recently drawn attention in nations attempting to improve their education systems. By requiring that all students take the same classes, countries believe that it might be easier to prevent students from falling behind. Critics of the idea argue that by restricting the classes that are offerd, students will not have the freedom to pursue their own passions and interests. Therefore, nations should require a standard curriculum for students until they enter high school, and at that point, students should have the free will to decide which classes to enroll in.

By instituting a national curriculum, a country can efficiently ensure that none if its students are being left behind academically. With a standard set of required classes, students will all be taught the same material at all schools. This will allow the nation to mass produce the required books which will reduce the cost of those textbooks for the schools. This will help prevent poorer schools from lacking the necessary materials. Additionally, with a set group of courses, teachers can be better trained to teach that material at the national level. By having a standardized teaching method, all teachers will be better able to instruct their students. Overall, by improving teachers' abilities and reducing the cost of books, students' learning will dramatically increase.

On the other hand, an national curriculum prevents students from studying material they find interesting. Every pupil will have different interests and abilities, so they should have the choice to select classes that interest them. However, students need to be sufficiently responsible in order to select classes that will down the road ultimately benefit them. To address that point, students should only gain the freedom to select classes in high school because by that point, they will have already gained a broad understanding of enough topics to intelligently choose subjects to pursue. Thus students will have the ability to choose their own classes around the time when they are mature enough to select the best classes for them.

Finally, enacting a required national curriculum until high school will better allow colleges to create entrance exams that are more fair. All students will have the same general background knowledge because they all had to take a standard progression of classes until high school. College admission officials then would be able to capitalize on this feature to better craft admission examinations because students possess a similar background. This new examination will prevent students from being unfairly biased against because their school focused on different material. As an added benefit, this new examination will more efficiently separate students into their schools. Overall, by requiring a standard curriculum, students will be more fairly prepared for university entrance examinations.

By enacting a law to require a nationwide curriculum until high school, countries will better prevent students from falling behind while still giving students the freedom to engage with subjects they desire. This compromise gives the best of both worlds by ensuring all students have a similar broad background while also not squashing students' attempts to test their interests. Ultimately, the biggest question of this program's success will be based on the classes that are selected as part of the required curriculum.