A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Every person is unique in their learning styles and interests. It follows that every student should be allowed to adjust his or her curriculum to suit this individuality. However, the recommendation proposes that all of its students study the same national curriculum until college. I thus strongly disagree with this recommendation because it reduces individuality and the uniqueness of every person's experience.

Every student studies in a different part of the US. And in the US, each state has its own unique history. For instance, Washington State has a particularly rich ecological history due to its salmon runs, while California's history is intricately linked to the gold rush. By studying the same national curriculum, important details that make each state and thus each person's experience growing up would be missed in favor of broader historical topics if the nation adopts this recommendation. Also, how and who decides which topics are taught in the curriculum? A national curriculum would overlook the uniqueness of every person's experience, which can be influenced by geographical location.

Just as each state has its own unique history, each student has his or her own unique learning path. Students learn at different paces. Some may possess more advanced in their mathematical skills, while others may excel in writing and reading. A uniform national curriculum would hinder those who need more advanced teaching and unfairly challenge those who need more help in a subject. If the recommendation implies that the national curriculum includes the same math, science, and English courses for every student in the nation, each student will not have a tailored academic learning experience.

Individuality throughout a child's development is also expressed through his or her interests. This may include art, music, sports, theater, and language learning. The recommendation may require all students to take these classes, regardless of their investment or interest in the subject. Although it allows every student in the nation to receive a basic introduction to these topics, it reduces the amount of time one would have to pursue more advanced studies in a topic of interest. For instance, a student who dreams of becoming a musician might be required to take introductory theater and sports classes, instead of private music classes. The recommendation therefore decreases the diversity of the path that one wants to follow.

Although the national curriculum would allow students to have the same basic understanding of a variety of topics, it disregards the individuality of experiences, learning, and interests of each student. I therefore strongly disagree with this recommendation in favor of a plan that allows each student to express their individuality.