A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Unity or diversity in national curriculum studied by students is one of the most controversial national topics in the world right now. Some section advocates for diversity in the national curriculum taught to students, others on the contrary, advocates for uniformity in the national curriculum. The prompt maintains that there should be unity in the national curriculum of a nation until they enter college. I mostly agree with this suggestion and argues that there should be some level of unity in the national curriclum of students until they enter college for two reasons.

In the first place, most students prior to college are undecided and does not know which career path they would want to embark on. It is prudent that those students are taught the same thing until they become mature and can make decisions independently without any help from external sources. For instance, a study conducted by Education Statistics Center in 2007 showed that over 70% of students prior to college do not know what career path they would want to take. They do not know whether they would want to offer Engineering,Accountancy,Medicine,Arts among others. With this, it is to the nation's greater good and for that matter the students, that they are taught the same thing before they role into college. Imagine being taught the syllabus of Accountancy, and the students enter college and want to offer Engineering? This would be a total disaster on the part of the students because they would face a dilemma either to choose different career paths which they have no interest in or they go back to college to be re-taught the syllabus of the carrer paths they want to thread on.

Again, students who are taught 'everything' before going to college are more well-rounded than students who are only taught their career syllabus. For instance, if a student wants to pursue Accountancy and he is taught a some aspects of Humanities, Arts among others. Such student is more likely to be all-rounded and can suit into other facets of life in which they find themselves. Studies show that employers love graduates who are capable of handling more than one tasks. For example, if a student graduates with Engineering background and he was also taught a little bit of Accounting syllabus and he is employed and it happens there is a vacancy in the Accounting position in the entity he or she is employed, because he or she has some knowledge , the company would rely on him or her to fill in that postion thereby saving the organization some dollars that can be used to accomplish other pressing needs of the company.

In conclusion, although , others also claim that those students that are only thought their career-path courses are more likely to be determined and focused in life, what about the 70% of students that are undecided as suggested by the research above, will they have to change their career-paths or will they go back to college to be re-taught their career-paths?