A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

A universal standard of education is vital for helping the citizens of any nation to be prepared for a fulfilled life, but this does not mean we should have a uniform national curriuclum for all school children up till college. Granted, in order to ensure that all of a country's students meet elementary standards such as achieving literacy and basic math competency, it makes sense to introduce a uniform curriculum. However, beyond these core skills, particular attention to individual students' needs and interests is necessary to ensure that education empowers the lifelong curiosity and human potential of its subjects instead of defeating it.

The trend in education over the past several decades has been an unfortunate push towards standardization of the curriculum. Educators and curriculum designers essentially draw on research to establish what the "average" goalpost for students should be, and build the school experience around that. Really though, the focus ought to be more on what each student needs to achieve his or her personal best, whatever that may look like. Otherwise, an average curriculum for a student capable of above-average performance has a diminishing effect where that student is not sufficiently challenged to grow and excel. Likewise, for the student with below-average potential, the average curriculum poses unrealistic challenges for them and sets them up for continued failure, which can translate into a lifelong attitude of feeling defeated and inadequate.

In addition to failing to account for the different levels of academic potential among its students, a uniform curriculum also fails to provide opportunities for individual interest and curiosity to flourish. Part of what education should be able is learning to love the act of learning itself, and that can only happen when students are allowed certain creative freedoms to explore topics that may be of more interest to them. A student who takes a great love of science and wants to learn more about astronomy, even though it's not necessarily in the curriculum, ought to have opportunities to explore that curiosity in school and be supported as they discover. Likewise, that student may have a lackluster interest in literature, and to punish them for their failure to love books while ignoring their incredible passion for the universe seems a disservice to the idea that schools help us reach our full potential.

On the other hand, implementing an uniform national curriculum does bring with it certain benefits. Basic reading comprehension, basic arithmetic, basic writing, basic health knowledge, and and understanding of one's duties as a citizen of that country, are essential for every student. A national curriculum helps enforce those necessary components of education. But as I have argued above, there needs to be room for other types of learning as well that are driven by the unique qualities, potentials, and interests of each student.

Some may argue that universal curriculums support social equality because they ensure that all students learn the same concepts and skills and are equally prepared for college; no student gets an unfair advantage over another because their schoool's curriculum was better. I would challenge this assumption. Equality is not the same as equity. Whereas equality espouses the idea that everyone should get the same thing, equity espouses the idea that everyone should get equal opportunity to succeed. As I discussed above, failing to provide additional support to students who require it prevents them from succeeding, even though it is ostensibly "fair" because it's equal to what they other students received. I think equity should be our goal here, because what we really want is to make sure that there are as few barriers to success in life as possible for each student.

In conclusion, I believe it this issue is not so black and white. In my opinion, implementing a universal curriculum around certain skills that every person requires in order to participate in society and pursue their own health and happiness is a great idea. However a good curriculum also leaves room for improvisation, creativity, and individualization. Students with great capacity to learn need more opportunities to do that, and students with narrower interests need to be encouraged to pursue those interests without being punished. Too much standardization in school will ultimately backfire by leaving students undersupported and undermotivated. So it is best to achieve a balance so that schools are not just about training children to meet the bare minimum, but about helping them actualize their full potential.