Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

government">governmental art funding has always been a controversial issue. while governments today facing many monumental challenges such as budget shortfalls, rising unemployment and escalating needs for public assistance, they have to wrestle with these immediate pressure while trying to address long-term concerns, in which art funding might be typical. while the prompt states a suspension on art funding during harsh economic environment, though I believe that we shouldn’t squander public resources on extravagance at this time, I mostly disagree with the prompted recommendation and argue government">governmental art funding is still needed for two reasons.

it is true that, when myriad ordinary people are struggling outside for food and water, using public resources to fund a luxurious upper-class art activity is inappropriate or somehow cruel. history has witnessed much of this in those tyrannical periods, that the masses lived in dire poverty while the nobility indulged in pleasures, holding grand art ceremonies. such situation shall never be viewed reasonable in a modern democratic society. However, the funding of art doesn’t end up at these exquisites. There are many other kinds of art fundings as well, and they have positive influence on improving the living environment for a general populace.

Firstly, public art funding creates many job opportunities, therefore alleviates the severe situation of employment problem, which is crucial to the people’s livelihood. From a historical perspective, the first time U.S. government got involved in art is just the great Depression period. As a significant part of New Deal, the pwap (public work of art project), recruited many artists working on public artworks all over the country. The succeeding project, Federal project Number One of wpa (work project Administration), widened the scope of pwap, admitting more occupations such as musicians, writers and journalists to work on a public art project. it is just such actions that helped many jobless artists pulls through the hard time. In view of this, public art funding can somehow be an effective solution to the employment problem.

Secondly, in addition to provide basic job opportunities, public art funding often have more economic or social benefits. In terms of economic benefits, imagine a city which has successfully held an art festival, by attracting numerous tourists, the local tourism will definitely be promoted, then might indirectly influenced other industries, therefore fuels an economic growth. As to the latter issue, not to mention the inherent merits of art, the wpa hereinabrove, made great contribution to preserve a national history and culture by recording local folk songs or interviewing former slaves in the South. For this reason, a public art funding has an abundance of potential values to the whole community.

In conclusion, even at a difficult time, public art funding still served as a positive role. Rather than a misapprehended dissipate of flamboyance and gaudiness, an appropriate use of public art funding can much effectively uplift the hard situation.