In order for any work of art — for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song — to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

The statement suggests that to gain merit for work of art for example, movies, songs or novel etc. The work of art must be understood by majority of people. Fundamentally I agree with this statement, as it ticks all the criteria for a true statement. Pragmatic situations are present which justifies this statement.

Considering the major fans and critics of the movie, novel or song, the merit of the above-mentioned work of art depends on how cogent or acceptable the work of art is. For instance, Avengers movie series which is a huge hit, fans and movie experts also rate this movie highly. Because it connects with the feeling of the people so well. Majority of people love this movie from around the world. The success of Avengers movie as a series can be seen in the I.M.D.B rating itself, which is highly rated. When we consider a work of art, it must be understandable by the viewers, because then mostly the show, movie or song gains praise and acknowledgement. Many movies turn to flops because of poor describing of plot, meaning and in the case of songs when there is no tune, melody the song becomes a flop. Thereby, not gaining any merit, but instead gets bad reviews and taunted by the movie critics and viewers. So, fundamentally this statement is true, but this is not true in some cases.

The exceptions of this statement can be inferred from the recent Oscar awards. The movie "Parasite" which was honored with the highest number of Oscar awards, was such a kind of movie, which majority of people did not hear of and the movie is also very difficult to understand. The plot of the movie was very deep for some people , for some people it went totally over the head, still the movie was able to get 4 Oscar's which was the highest number of Oscars given to the movie during 2019.Basically the point here is Oscars only nominate those movies which show a deep and very well correlated idea. In this case to gain merit, though many people around the world could not understand the movie it still received the merit.

Furthermore, another exception is with the artist Eminem's rap songs. Eminem raps at such a high speed which leaves people in awe. His song "Rap God" garnered huge praise, for how fast he was able to speak words and gave it a proper meaning. Though majority of people while hearing it did not understand a bit about the song, they were all in the awe for the speed and the tone of the song. Eminem's another song "Godzilla" which was relaxed after "Rap God", was even faster compared to "Rap God". Saying about an astounding number of words per minute in that song. In this case also people did not understand a word when they heard the song. Only a bunch full of people may have understood the song on the first go. But still due to beats and speed of Eminem this song was a success. These are some scenarios in which the statement may not hold true.

In conclusion, the statement is fundamentally correct for most of works of art. But some exceptions are present as discussed above which will make the statement look vague. But ultimately the number of exceptions is very less compared to normal situations, where a work of art is a huge success or gains merit only when it is understood by majority of people.