“In order for any work of art — for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song — to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.”

Art has no language or medium barriers. Art is a kind of feeling or emotions or thoughts expressed through different ways like novels, poems, films, songs. From the first man days to today’s modern man any art which is made in understandable way has a good merit.

An art form has no restrictions. Art of any language or any medium is widely accepted but to excel it is to be in easy way to understand it. Many art forms are composed of great meanings and message oriented. Those are composed keeping in mind to deliver some thing useful through that, but what if it is made of some high-level language? The underlying or intended message is not carried out desirably. Such works which are worth of high merit are degraded because of its not understandable structure. There are many movies which are to be awarded but lacked just because of not gaining fans since the content is not understandable.

From the early ages itself, for the works to be understandable translations are started. It is started with the aim to make it understandable for greater number of audiences. The works which are not recognized or excelled in their original form got a great recognition after translating them to various languages. Even in the present days many works got excelled because of their wide reach. For example, the recent buzz, Korean shows, Korean songs are very much popular all over the world. Even the Korean movie parasite won the Oscar because it is translated to all languages and it gained huge audience. If the movie was not translated and kept in its original language Korean, it won’t get huge audience and would not be able to win Oscar.

In contrary there are many songs which are not understandable but have good merit. It is because music has no language. Any songs which keep the human activated will have merit indefinitely, but this is not applicable to all kinds of arts.

In conclusion there is no denying fact that mostly any artwork to have merit it should be understandable by most people. At the same time every artwork need not to be understandable by most people to have merit.