In order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agre

It is widely acknowledged that college education is not just about developing professional skills in specific disciplines; receiving college education also means to become well-rounded, which involves a genuine understanding of human nature and the world around us. For this reason, I believe that reading imaginative literature is necessary for all college students.  In addition, only through course requirement can the students be given enough incentives to read the imaginative works systematically and provided the theoretical training for benefiting from reading the works.

To begin with, reading imaginative literature is critically important for college students to develop a well-rounded perspective on human beings and the world. One of the fundamental feature of all imaginative works is that the authors, despite the time and space that constrain their physical beings, had the imaginative and creative talents to address the issues that concern humanity as a whole.  The novel “seven”, which was later adapted into a Hollywood blockbuster, for example, explored the human sins that were first depicted in the Bible. Only through critically reading imaginative works like “seven” could the students have a more profound understanding of the struggle of human beings against human nature.  In other words, reading imaginative works provides the opportunities for students to learn about the world and themselves that are not available in other disciplinary studies such as math and economics.

People may argue that students can be encouraged to read such imaginative works on their own rather than taking mandatory courses.  In response to this argument, I would like to offer two counterarguments.

First of all, course requirement is necessary for providing the incentives for students to read the imaginative works.  In the Age of Internet, many different entertainment activities are out there competing for students’ attention. Without the course requirement, students are more likely to find themselves watching TV, movies or surfing the Internet mindlessly.  Few students could derive pleasure from reading literary works when more relaxing activities like chatting with friends on Facebook are just a few clicks away.  They need the discipline and motivation that come with a well-structured course to read the works.

In addition, we should not overlook the importance of professors in guiding the students to understand the imaginative works.  Professors who teach such courses are experts in literature who have been well-trained in reading the imaginative works critically and creatively.  In such courses, students will be provided theoretical tools to understand the texts that are not available when they read the texts independently.  For example, the concept of “intertextuality” can be used to explore the connection between the novel “seven” and the biblical theme of original sins.  Through such formal training in a college-level course, students will develop skills to read literary works more deeply in future and develop better and more comprehensive understanding of humanity.

In conclusion, I agree that all college students should be expected to take courses that involves reading imaginative literature as part of their graduation requirement. Such policy can provide the incentive for students to study imaginative works systematically and critically, helping them to develop a more profound and comprehensive understanding of themselves and the world.