As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Direction: Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technology is an invention or creation that helps to improve the original way of doing things. It has enhanced positively our immediate environment and the world. Technology has stimulated an enormous range of learning and unlocked the inherent potential to think beyond boundaries. I therefore disagree with the author who indicated that as more people rely on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will diminish.

The world has become global and advanced due to technological inclinations. This inclination to technology has provoked intense learning. For example, a child growing up likes playing with a toy car, dull babies and bicycle, which are all products of technology. They rely so much on this as a form of entertainment but this actually develops their thought process. They remain so inquisitive and begin to imagine new ways of doing things or creating other form of the technology they have been exposed to.

Furthermore, before the advent of technology humans needed to move from one location to another. The means of transportation was by foot, trekking long distances for days. This era passed because the challenge associated with this method stimulated the thought process of humans to solve the problem of stress and time wasted on the journey. This thought process has enabled humans to attain significant progress as we moved away from trekking by foot to using donkeys, horses and now cars, train, aero planes. Technology has also been an enabler in every field of study helping to formulate new theories made possible with deep thinking.

Though, the reliance on technology also have its negative effect on the society. For example, students prefer using calculator to carry out mathematical calculations instead of doing manual calculations that will help their thought process. The reliance on calculator has encouraged laziness and caused loss of creativity. it is also eroding the culture of hard work and values propagated by our parents. This can be corrected by introducing some restriction on the use of calculator for students.

Finally, the benefits associated with reliance on technology is huge and will only get better as humans continue to think of ways to make our world a better place.