As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your the reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Humans are known to evolve, and with the increase in evolution technology also advances. The prompt states that the ability of humans to think for themselves decreases with an increase in technology. In my opinion, I moderately agree with this statement and argue that to some extent this condition may be true for the following three reasons.

Firstly, without the involvement of machines, some tasks become difficult. For instance, space crafts are used to explore space and retrieve information about space, so these require lengthy and hard calculations which could be easily computed without any errors, this avoidance of mistakes increases the reliability of humans on machines and promotes their usage.

Secondly, people become more lethargic as there would be less work to be done to them. For instance, people are known to be vigilant while doing tasks but with the introduction of machines, responsibility decreases which in turn increases dependency on machines, as humans are known to evolve with respect to their surroundings their problem solving might be decreased as it is not being used.

Lastly, humans need a high level of problem-solving in order to develop a technology capable of solving problems. For instance, Artificial intelligence is a quite complex technology that requires more skills to develop, those skills include problem-solving and also in order to maintain a technology of such complexity more human intelligence is needed, so developing technology might not affect the problem-solving skill of a human.

In conclusion, some may argue against this statement but the main thing is that developing technology does not mean that humans' problem-solving skills decrease as they would have to maintain them as well.