"As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Today, technical solutions maybe present for every problem man has ever faced but it does not mean that man’s ability to think rationally and logically has deteriorated. One cannot refuse that technology itself is the brain child of man’s thinking. Thus, the presented statement is clearly debatable.

Firstly, the world of technology is still expanding. New and developed solutions for existing ones are released every day. Let us take the example of what technology has done to communication. Man has come a long way since communicating using signs, smoke and strings. Communication has seen Graham Bell’s invention of telephone to the more recent- smartphones and tablets- all products of man’s thinking. Hence, it does not mean that once the technical solutions have been provided for some aspect they are not perused upon anymore. Rather, they are subjected to betterment all the time. This requires constant thinking and problem solving on the part of man. If technology had enervated man’s thinking prowess then constant developments would not have been possible.

Secondly, one cannot simply reject the most celebrated product of modern technology- The Internet. Since the beginning of its branching out in 1983 and its release in 1990, the internet has seen many alterations. Modern internet, thus, is a palpable progeny of APRANET’s assembly of “network of networks”. The internet is still being developed- new protocols put forward, applications rendered and servers developed. Man has evinced the mixture of logical and innovative thoughts to advance the internet.

Thirdly, in contrast to the statement presented, one can further provide instances where man is constantly coming up with new remedies for diseases which were incurable earlier. To throw some light upon this, one can simply present with the eradication of small pox disease which was an epidemic a few decades ago. The discovery of X-Ray and the invention of the X-Ray machine have not only helped in the field of osteology but also helped oncologists come up with new cures for the previously untreatable cancer. Innumerable illustrations like, automobiles, use of renewable energy, electricity grid, methods for reducing pollution, satellites and rockets trying to know the unknown universe, et cetera; can be thought of as the offspring of man’s mind. All these considerably weaken the statement provided.

All the technology lionizations kept aside, one cannot refute the fact that technology also has some negative effects. Modern society may overly depend on technology for simple problem solving. From using autocorrect to intelligent sensing, from copy-paste to using calculators for simple calculations, man may have lessened his ability for simple problem solving. But, nonetheless, one can also argue that technology has saved ample time by providing the way out; the time which can be devoted to other complex problem solving.

There will always be new problems to tackle, new discoveries waiting to be unveiled, new inventions which may already be in its preliminary stage. Man’s hunger for knowing the unknown will never cease. Thus, technology will always grow aided by human thoughts and knowledge. Man’s thought process will continue to enhance due to technology in contrast to the given statement.