People should question the rules of authority as opposed to accepting them passively

The authorities are responsible for enabling an environment that is amicable, safe and just for the people. This is achieved by setting rules and orders, which one is expected to follow diligently. The authorities have every possibility to become biased and function askew leading to more harm to a society than good. It becomes necessary to keep a check on them through questioning the rules set forth by them.

It must be also understood that authorities are bodies that are made up by the people themselves by entrusting them power willfully. If the questioning of each and every rule and actions are done then it might impact the functioning of the authority itself. I would like to take an example of a recently passed rule that penalizes with hefty fine on traffic violations, makes seat belts and helmets compulsory for drivers and rides in India. The rule met with heavy resistance from the people. This is because they are never used to following such strict rules before but this is required for their own and others safety on road. Questioning and protesting against such rules would be a loss for society in long run.

On the other hand being a complete docile and keeping a passive attitude is equally bad. If the people start agreeing to everything that the authorities approve then it would lead to a situation where the society becomes totalitarian. An example would be case when the state decided to impose censorship. This would be a violation of fundamental right to freedom of expression and in such cases people must come out and question the authority. Failure of which will only lead to authorities becoming powerful and possibly corrupt, as there would be no check mechanism.

What is needed is therefore a balance of both. The people must definitely question the authority from time to time but it should not become so repetitive that it renders the functioning of authority nugatory.