People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting

The author asserts that our behavior is primarily determined not by forces of our own making. While the assertion sounds determinism, it might well be right about some points. Admittedly, outside forces unquestionably affect a significant portion of our behaviors -- the way we feel, think, and act. However, the author bases his conclusion on an erroneous presumption that these important external forces comprise no or few human making forces. Thus, I strongly disagree with the statement and would argue that anthropogenic influences equally, if not chiefly, determine the ways how we behave.

If we look at the issue at a broad level, it is not difficult for us to notice that outside forces such as laws passed by a country or traditional culture of a community govern our daily life. Laws instill senses of legitimacy into our minds, by determining which kinds of activities are allowed and which kinds of activities are forbidden. Although a traditional culture does not explicitly express itself in the way like what laws do, it nonetheless controls our behaviors by awarding its adherents with respect from other members and punishing eccentric members through alienation.

Furthermore, these forces don't just act alone. They usually tend to interact with each other to form a seamless web so thorough that it comprises every aspect of a person living in a given country or community. As time passes, the interweaving forces also become so strong that we have to evolve a particular mindset, an appropriate system of feelings, and corresponding responses, to adapt. Consequently, because they have already become part of us, when we are behaving according to these prescriptions, we might not even notice such influence but believe that we are acting at our own discretion -- according to our internal forces. Of course, there are always exceptions. Criminals and heroes come to mind. But as long as statistical outliers are not considered, we are safe to say that it is mainly these outside rules that responsible for managing our behaviors.

However, in stating his/her conclusion, the speaker unreasonably presumes that most of these significant outside forces which determine our behaviors are not human-made. The preceding examples of external forces -- laws and culture -- are all examples of artifacts. The speaker might argue, of course, that it is the nature of the earth decides how we can survive, and, in turn, how we form our societies, enact laws, and develop cultures. Although I concede that these natural conditions are fundamental to all other anthropogenic forces, they might not influence us the most; after all, we, as social animals, live in a world surrounded by other individuals and our products, and it is these adjacent people and objects chiefly affect us. And one shall not forget that a considerable part of the physical world today is not in its natural state, meaning it is at least semi-anthropogenic. In fact, we have transformed the physical world to the extent that we now strive to preserve it. Thus, there is no base for the author's presumption.

To conclude, while it is external forces which significantly determine our internal forces and, as a result, our behaviors, these influential external forces might include not only natural ones. In my view, it is those anthropogenic external forces principally responsible for deciding how we feel, think and act.