A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Crime refers to a deviation from the norms or standards set by societies. It is essential that a country holds up its reputation in implementing its law against criminals. And this implementation includes punishment as a consequence of the crime the individual has carried out. And this implementation includes punishment as a consequence of the crime the individual has carried out. Every country has different laws related to criminal offenses and the degree of punishments associated with it. The author suggests a different idea, in his opinion, the criminal should not retain civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her labor. However, in my view, I disagree with the author and in doing so, would like to mention two reasons as to why I support this stand against the prompt.

The two rights mentioned in the prompt i.e the civil rights and benefit from one's labor are two major rights that are responsible for providing its citizens. Strip away the civil rights, and one can see the same consequences that one sees in a third-world country having no law and order. For instance, consider the example of a country like North Korea. People in that country, are treated as slaves of the government and the punishments that they have to come by for even committing a minor crime are pretty unbearable and nasty, leaving the suspect to live in a place like a hell by depriving all the civil rights and alienating one from the society for the rest of one's life. The same thing can be asserted for the given topic, depriving one of his social and civil rights can play as a hugely negative factor in one's mind and shackle him completely. The consequence put forward by the prompt, in its core, questions the citizenship of a crime doer. So I feel, this is not the right way to make a person pay for his wrong-doings.

The second point I'd like to put forth is from the "means of living" perspective. The question is, will enact such an idea has a disastrous effect on the lives of those around him or her? Isn't the family of a man dependent on the head of the house. If we deny his right to earn or benefit from the labor he does, we are indirectly denying his means to earn, which in turn denies the mode by which he provides for his family needs. Thus in implementing such an idea practically, it will only lead to much more brokenness in the society, and if pondered more deeply, would cause further crimes to be committed in the name for survival.

Thus, I'd like to conclude, that, the denial of the civil rights and the rights for benefitting from labor would carry with itself disastrous consequences, such as which we might not be able to imagine, as we haven't seen it around us. The most accepted, by default punishment for the crimes in various societies are implemented by a term in prison, or other probation centers, so that the man committing the crime can realize of his mistake, and might find repentance by bearing the consequence.