The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for t

In today’s modern living, arguments about whether the primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time have taken place or not. While some people agree with the former, others believe otherwise. In my opinion, although both options might present meritorious points, without a doubt, I would settle upon the latter ones. Certainly, I stand on this perceptions because of these explanations.

One of the causes is that I believe that the profound goal of developing technologies should be solving problems which we cannot solve with current technologies, not increasing leisure time. Nowadays, there are many serious problems to solve in various fields, which people anticipate new technology to ameliorate and it is obvious that the primary goal of technology should play an excellent role to meet this anticipation. Especially, about medical field, many patients who are suffering from incurable disease and their family rely on possibility of technological advancement to solve the disease. Furthermore, autonomous car which is new technology many car industries focus on is also a good example of showing the most important goal of technology. This technology is not for saving time for leisure, but for amending difficulties current people have about driving.

An additional contention that caused me to favor this side is that there will be many adverse effects if the primary goal of technological advancement is to increase people's efficiency for more leisure time. If all the concern of technology is concentrated on efficiency for more leisure time, there will be less consideration for public profit and protecting environment. For instance, even though nuclear power plant could generate huge amount of energy more efficiently than other methods, considering public safety, it is difficult to say that this technology should be used all over the world. Therefore, we have consider more than efficiency and leisure time such as safety and purpose of development when we advance technology.

Thus, from what has been argued, one can only generalize that the profound goal of developing technology should not be for better efficiency to increase people's leisure time.