Prompt: Although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning.

Often people are of the opinion that technology is a distraction from the real world but I see it as a double edged sword, having its advantages and disadvantages. The prompt suggests that innovation and progress of technology, which offers schools improved methods for instructing students, are often distracting. However, in my opinion these innovations in teaching methods are useful and helpful for three reasons.

Firstly, it is a popularly held belief that there are different types of learners i.e. people use different senses to learn and generally can perceive and retain information better in one way than other. However, research has shown that, although some people have a proclivity to learn in a certain way, the best way to learn a subject or a skill is through all your senses and the recent technological innovations for schools is incredibly useful for these purposes. For example, when a group of students are being taught physics in school, learning the subject merely through a textbook is not enough to make them understand. However, through the internet and smart TV’s in school, students can access materials made by experts in the field and see how a concept in physics like momentum works and affects the real world through their visual and auditory senses . So, a complex topic being taught at school which could be difficult to comprehend for students through only traditional textbooks, can be made easier and even fun for them.

Secondly, technology in school also helps teachers to give their students a comprehensible and better lesson over virtually any topic. They can access the internet and select the best lesson plans and resources needed in order to make the learning experience better for their students. For example, a teacher preparing a lesson over the rule of Akbar in ancient India can access tons of information on this subject explaining it and videos of how Akbar’s kingdom operated, battles that he fought, his daily life etc. This not only makes the work of the teacher easier to some extent but even helps their students to comprehend the lesson being taught effectively.

Thirdly, the role of group learning is very important in a students life and it is imperative that they learn about it and experience its benefits while they are in school as it can also benefit them in their future lives. Technological advancement has led to development of social media apps through which people can interact and get in touch with each other and students can use these apps to their benefit. For example, all the students in a class are given a project to make a model of the solar system and are divided into groups of four to do so. School timings are only from morning to afternoon and even in school they have to attend classes and have very little time to discuss the project. Through apps like whatsapp or telegram, they can get in touch after school with each other and discuss the details of the project they will be making and can even collaborate with each other through the internet in making a word document or a powerpoint presentation. So, these apps help students to collaborate with each other and provide an effective learning experience. They can not only chat or exchange information but can also simultaneously work over a project through the internet.

Of course, the aforementioned innovations in technology have their cons and can be distracting to students but such is the case with almost everything in the world and as mentioned, technology is a double edged sword and its user should use it with restraint. But that doesn’t mean one must denounce the use of these things entirely. Therefore, use of technology in school is a salutary option which is beneficial not only to students but also teachers.