Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be

The issue that the scandals are beneficial in bringing out our attention on problems that no speaker or reformer ever could is a contentious one. While each side has its own strength and weaknesses I accede to the fact the human propensity towards a negative thought or a discussion is more alluring than an positive one. Scandals are no different; humans tend to focus more on the obscure details that were latent.

Firstly, when a scandal happens it is known to everybody then. The contents are no more not opaque. The public is revealed to the problem in a way that clears out all the haziness. For instance, few years back here in India the Rail Minister, was found out guilty in the big Railway scam where in he was found to be corrupt and had done around 12kMillion forgery. It was not cumbered for the media and the people to understand what has been done, how it was all planed and how he colludes with other ministers, who also had their part of share. It was all over the news, so the incident really bring out the obscure details and led people believe how malfeasance a leader could be.

Furthermore, the scandals help out in bringing the sinful veracities of a group to everyone.

On the other hand, scandals can sometimes serve chiefly to distract us from more pressing community or societal problems. At the community level, for example, several years ago the chancellor of a university located in my city was expelled from office for misusing university funds to renovate his posh personal residence. Every new development during the scandal became front-page news in the campus newspaper. But did this scandal serve any useful purpose? No. The scandal did not reveal any pervasive problem with university accounting practices. It did not result in any sort of useful system-wide reform. Rather, it was merely one incidence of petty misappropriation. Moreover, the scandal distracted the university community from far more important issues, such as affirmative action and campus safety, which were relegated to the second page of the campus news paper during the scandal.

In sum, I agree that scandals often serve to flag important socio-political problems more effectively than any speaker or reformer can. However, whether a scandal works more benefit than harm to a community or society must be addressed on a case-by-case basis.