Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Majority of people in developed and developing countries live their life according to a timetable. They work very hard to make a living and have very little time for frivolity. They are so deeply invested in their work and their problems that they can scarcely spare some time to discuss and debate about problems plaguing the society, economy, country, etc. Hence, these people are always ready for saucy incidents and scandals to make their life interesting for a while. It becomes the hot topic of most conversations

For quite a while now, the Indian film industry has been facing the issue of nepotism. Many intellectuals within the industry, journalists and critics have talked about this issue. According to them, the Indian audience preferred to watch the poorly written films starring the children of film stars. This left minimal audience for the small-scale but perfectly written indigenous films. This the critics argued led to stagnation of not just the industry but also the society as unlike the small-scale films, these large-scale films failed to talk about the societal issues. However, the unfortunate suicide of a self-made actor and the alleged scandals involving his nepotic colleagues and his girlfriend drew a lot of attention to this issue. The people went out of their to voluntarily boycott these films and support the indigenous film industry.

Similarly, our society for centuries now had been ignorant to the plight of the sanitation workers. Many of them to this day live a disdainful life with little money and no access to basic necessities. No amount of work done by social reformers, protests by people belonging to this community could catch the attention of the burgoiese. But when a scandal involving the exploitation of the women folk of this community at the hands of a powerful political family comes out, people hit the streets with record numbers. They even manage to overthrow the leader of the party in power and demand better lives for these people.

On the other hand, something as pure as the Indpendence movemnts of countries didn’t need scandals. The words, speeches and protests of the reformers, leader were enough foran entire country of millions of people to protest and agitate for decades.

The above examples only prove that scandals can grab the attention and opinion of people quite easily ton problems than speakers and reformers. Only something as true as indeepnednce whicheverybody desires with unbeleviable conviction suffics with them.