Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be

Do you think Martin Luther King's "I Had a Dream" speech would have had as much of an effect without his supporters working to release the scandals done to the African-American people during that time? Without people learning about critical information behind wrongs done to people and the planet, even the most eloquent speaker cannot move people to act against these practices. Some might disagree by listing all of the speakers and leaders that have transformed societies, but it wasn't done without key actions taken to reveal sordid practices. Throughout history, these actions have allowed for people to realize the scandals behind what they believed to be the most beneficial.

Since the dawn of time, certain groups of people have been capricious (expedient) to a point that they don't care how much it costs others, but certain individuals used their skills to reveal these scandals to create change. An example of this is when political cartoons were developed. Headstrong men used their artistic skill to transform their media from plain humor to satire that vilified the true enemies. Pompous, rich men were debased to nothingness when it was revealed how much they had taken from the people that most trusted them. This allowed for even the illiterate to realize what was going on and take action to stop it. A speaker could have worked just as hard as these artists, but not reveal the audacious actions being done to as large of an audience.

Scandals allow for people to see actions as they truly are, and give them reason enough to fight against it. There is currently a plan to install a new pipeline directly in the middle of a Native American reservation in Oklahoma, and at this hour there are people camped beside the tractors being used to tear up the ground as a protest. These people are doing this in order to draw attention to this violation of personal property instead of sitting by and watching their land be destroyed. Sure, a speech from the state senator might have ruffled a few feathers, but this action is truly revealing a scandal that has led to preventative action. Actions like these can transform decisions made like these that would have a negative impact on ecological and societal environments.

Speakers and reformers can actually be full of trickery and lies, which can sway an audience away from the truth. Think of the Watergate Scandal. The President of the United States was one of the most eloquent speakers of the time, but this scandal revealed him to be very different than how his words portrayed him. If this scandal was not revealed, then the world would still view him to be an honest, trustworthy man. Words can deceive, and only actions can really reveal the truth and produce results.

In a world full of scandals, the truth can only be revealed by the people that take action and allow for others to also visualize it. This can be done in so many more ways than just speeches or political reforms. Even the simplest actions can transform perspectives for the better.