"Scandals-whether in politics, academia, or other area-can be useful. They focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could."

Scandals act as both side of a coin. In one side can be useful and it can open society eyes to the reality and help to the progresses of it but not in any field of the society. In the other side of this coin it can hurt to society spirit and grab peace from society.

For instance scandals in politics may distrust people to the government. Some scandals from prominent individuals that are in the head of government can destroy trust in that society. People attitude will change and they trust less than before. Even it can affect on their choice and the society tolerate severe hurt.

In the other side scandals are useful in politics and it can help people to riot against it and forced the leader to wise the government and find a solution.

Always scandals may not be useful and these scandals may be lie. For instance some groups for their benefits in an election try to destroy the figure of the other group. So under this circumstance, It is hard to judge them and passing time can helpful.

Even some media for collecting partisans publish some fake scandals like a singer's drug addiction or athlete alcoholic addiction so it can not be main criteria for judgment and under this circumstance, scandal is not so much a useful tool to focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Admittedly, to some extent, scandals in one society help famous people to behave carefully than before. To sum up Hearing fake scandals like famous actor's drug addiction is not useful and it can not focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could so I'm disagree with scandal usefulness