"Society should identify those children who have special talents and provide training for them at an early age to develop their talents."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Most people would agree that a talented person should be developed from the early childhood to become successful in the future. However, there is another side of the issue which has to do with personal choice and freedom. Not every child would be eager to work diligently 8 hours a week to win competitions, while he could spend spare time with his friends.

I disagree with the statement in its presented form, but I do agree that society should provide the environment for talented children to develop their skills. It is important for the future of the society, as contributors are likely to be distinguished from peers in their young years already. In addition, some activities require immersion from the very early age. However, it is crucial not to dissuade one from the particular occupation in the future because of the social pressure in childhood.

Society needs to take care of its future generation, by providing safety and giving opportunities to them. The scent of competition and fame flowing in the air, along with pecuniary prizes are great tools to attract and distinguish talented children. The TV show “Voice” has already given the world exquisite young singers who are likely to create future musical industry. Subject olympiads held among high school students are the basis for the future of Academia. So, the society should create opportunities and instill the love for work in talented children to prosper.

In addition, there are occupations that require immersion from the very age and are indispensable parts of our culture. Almost every successful sportsmen began rigorous practicing since the first decade of existence. A girls may become a ballet dancer only if she started practicing since the age of four, because afterwards human body is said to be inflexible. Thus, it is important to find out talents and propensities in children in the early age to give them the best chance to succeed.

However, one should bear in mind that talented children are also people with their own desires and world view. A persistent goading from parents may result in a repulsion that a child feel towards the occupation he used to like in the past. While society should give every opportunity for children to identify themselves as early as possible, it should not push them do so. In Russia a lot of parents dream about their children playing a musical instrument, but according to statistics, more than 80 per cent hate playing music because of their memories from childhood. If children are uncompromisingly pushed to do things they do not want to do, they resist. In fact, the result is not beneficial for anyone, thus, this strategy is a failure.

Overall, I believe that the society should give opportunities for talented children via subsidising successful children and conducting contests. However, no persistence is advised.