Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

Currently there are many species of animals that face extinction both as a result of human activity and as a result of unfavorable natural selection. Conservation groups tirelessly work attempting to save as many animal species as possible from extinction. However, other groups argue that those conservation groups are wasting money that could better be used to improve the lives of humans and that only animals that are facing extinction as a result of human activity should be saved. However, the policy that society should focus conservation efforts on those species which are dying as a result of human activity is unreasonable. Instead, society should attempt to save all endangered species but focus efforts on those which provide inspiration for scientific advancements, provide attractions for zoos and other learning centers, and provide an irreplaceable service in their ecosystem.

Animals have provide the inspiration and ideas for many of the scientific accomplishments and inventions, and thus, species that could result in an advancement should be preserved from extinction. By saving these animals, current and future scientists can study them to better understand the remarkable features. For example, scientists were able to study several species of birds to understand what characterists are important for flight. Those observations were then used when designing airplanes with specially rounded wings to generate lift as well as designing the flaps on the wings for steering. Another example of an animal providing inspiration and information to humans would be a species of fungi in the Amazon rainforest. This particular fungi is able to produce a compound that has been shown to be effective in curing specific cancers. These two examples demonstrate that animals can be used as models to further scientific understanding, and as such, species of animals which demonstrate particularly interesting characteristics which could result in a scientific achievement should be conserved.

Beyond providing scientific inspiration, animals can be used to generate interest in the environment. Animals on display at zoos and other learning centers perform a two-fold action by increasing public interest in the envirnoment and generating income to fund environmental study. The animals typically on display are those that are very well known such as polar bears and elephants as well as those which are able to intrigue the public for other reason. For example, a beautiful animal such as flamingos can be seen at many zoos around the world due to their bright pink color. Additionally, zoo personal is able to explain to the public how the color is a result of the flamingos' diet. Thus the flamingo is able to attract attention for its beauty as well as intrigue the public with the odd reason for its color. Species that are able to be placed in zoos will not only be saved as a result but will also generate public interest in the environment.

Finally, animals that fill an irreplaceable niche in their ecosystem must be saved to prevent distrubances to that ecosystem. Animals such as ants provide a very important function to their ecosystem by scavanging other dead insects; however, one species of ants can typically take the place of another. Thus ants would not be an irreplaceable one. However, there are animals that do not have other species that perform the same function or do not have other animal species that could tolerate the same environment. Thus it is imperative that those species are protected to ensure the ecosystem remains balanced.

Overall, society should focus its efforts on perserving species that could lead to a scientific breakthrough, species that would function well in zoos or learning centers, and species that cannot be replaced. While an ideal world would ensure the conservation of all species, the effort to perserve the endangered species must be balanced with their importance to humans and their own ecosystem.