Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.Writ

To begin with, I have to admit that this is truly a very controversial topic issue, which means there is no standard correct answer for this issue. On one hand, choosing a field of study based on students' own talents and interests absolutely can make students devote themselves in this field without hesitation because of their curiosity. On the other hand, considering availability of jobs when choosing a field of study is also significant, because a well-paid job means life of high quality, which is also most people's purpose and dream for their whole life. In my opinion, I would say to choose a field based on your own talents and interests should be considered more compared with the latter.

First of all, as I mentioned above, interests is the best teacher. If you have curiosity about the field you are going to study, tedious and dull work won't prevent you from pursuing the truth or reality you want to achieve. The inventor of the bulbs, Thomas Edison has a household fame. I think it is also well-known that how he eventually found the material that can endure extremely high temperature when the bulbs are alighted through thousands of experiments and trying which turned out to be failure. What if he didn't have any interests for this study of bulbs? So many times failure will absolutely destroy his confidence and wiliness to continue the study and maybe modern human beings can't have this flamboyant night life any more. Once a student has interests in their field he is studying, he will less likely be defeated by setbacks and has stronger perseverance to finish the study because of this uncanny curiosity.

Secondly, many contributions made on the history of science are by genius and talented people. For instance, the ground-breaking relativity theory issued by Albert Einstein was definitely a unprecedented accomplishment known by every person even most of them do not major in physics. It is common knowledge, however, that it is because his brilliant thought and talent made him achieve this accomplishment. Had a ordinary university student study this kind of recondite stuff, he would never come up with the same achievement. This is because usually achievements to improve the whole human society, whether this is in the science field or not, is extremely difficult which means only talented people have the chance to figure out these monsters.

However, it is not wise to totally deny the availability of jobs when you choose a field. Because not all of students study in the college has a clear understanding on what they are interested in and what they want to do in the future. For those who do not have a clear and definitive purpose or schedule for their future life, it is still a good option for them to consider the availability of jobs when choosing the field. At least, to survive and make a pretty good living will not be a problem bothering them in the future.

To sum up, considering their own talents and interests when coming to select a field of study will be the first thing I recommend them to do, since most college students, I think, come to the college with ambitions. For those do not have any interests or thought, considering availability of jobs when choosing field will also be a good option.