Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.Write a response in which you

Government financing has twofold effects on arts’ integrity, and both opinions, presented in the passage, can be backed with sound arguments and examples. I personally believe that art’s integrity is not threatened by financial support; moreover this helps arts to thrive.

First of all, we can see a lot of changes in consumer behavior, and arts are not an exemption. It can be noted that art is a means of expression and it does not obey the market rules, but a deeper analysis of nowadays trends will give another answer. There are a lot of schools of arts and faculties in universities effectively competing in education market. Another example of the current developments is the share of the artists working in the market and selling their works. They truly depend on market conditions. As it was mentioned, art is a form of expression and not all artists undergo the market conditions, and, despite their financial situation, they go on creating masterpieces. I think that this particular segment of artists is vulnerable to financial situation and their needs for support are of primary importance. This incentive will help them out and make possible to concentrate on their works without any harm to creativity. Thus, it will ensure the development of art.

We can argue that there are a lot of other places that need financing such as health and education, and it is by no means questionable. I think that there are some forms of art that are as important as the above mentioned fields. The most important field to be mentioned is the one that preserves historical events and represents them in an artistic form. Their depiction helps not only save the history for future generations, but also resembles the soul of the times. It can be easily seen that he financing of art is important for the sake of history, which is crucial for every nation.

The proponents of the view that government financing of arts hampers its integrity can bring examples of inefficient financing. For example, the government enables funding for a specific filed of arts, thus depleting resources for financing other fields. This, of course, will lead to underdevelopment of many forms of arts, therefore hindering their prosperity.

To conclude, I would like to say that both opinions are plausible, but I still keep the side of my opinion. I think that properly organized financing of the field will help it to flourish and be beneficial to overall society.