Some people believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society, especially among children. Others believe that children's peer groups and parental role models are a much more influence on children's behavior.

The issue of increasing vilolence in the society, especially in the younger generation is of prime importance. I believe that the increase in violent behaviour amongst the children is due to children getting effected negatively by by their friends and more importantly by their parents, whom they look up as a role models. Children try to the pick up the habits of their peer group in the attempts to fit in and to stay competitive in this modern society. Furthermore, children look to their parents in their early life as their role models, picking up certain nuances and continuing them in their adult lives.

To begin with, children have the tendency to emulate their peers group. More often than not, children will make same choices as their friends, and these choices are often bad ones. This tendency to look like their friends, or prerhaps trying to trump their friends in order to look aplomb results in children being violent. Children in bad company often pick up habits like bullying in school, and grow up to be violent in life. Studies have shown that school bullys often end up in correctional facilities for horrific crimes like murder, arson etc. in their adult life.

Most children look up to their parents as role models, and if parents don't demonstrate good values, it has a negative affect on the child. Studies conducted have shown that children when they see their parents indulging in habits like drug use, pick up those habits in later point in their life. These delinquencies have a negative effect on a child's life.

Some may argue, that violence in the popular media is the cause of increase in violence in the society because children try to imitate the characters in the movie. However, this argument is flawed because access to such media is higly regulated with theatre strictly enforcing the guidelines set up by the motion pictures. And even if the children get access to such media, it doesn't impact them as much as it is on-screen, compared to what they observe off-screen.