Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Political leaders' opinion has a significant effect on all people. This effect can go beyond country borders and influence other countries. Some people argue that in order to be effective, political leaders must agree with public opinion and leave principle for the advantage of an agreement; On the other hand, there are some others believe that the most crucial characteristic of a great leader is loyalty to particular principles and objectives. It should consider that a great leader must be robust and consistent in principles.

The first reason is loyalty to public expressed ideas. Virtually in all countries, people elect political leaders, so they expect them to be loyal to their promises. In many cases, people select ideas, not persons, so If an elected leader changes his/her opinions, people might not believe him/her. Despite this, the leaders of other countries cannot anticipate the behavior of a strange political leader. Policymakers concentrate on political leaders attitudes. Principles that changes many times can make mistakes for other countries policymakers.

The second reason is the continuous public controversy. Political leaders should settle public debates with an election in a democratic way. Although there are public elections, some people like to create a public controversy. A great political leader remains the principles but creates a situation for settling disputes. The act of changing ideas from time to time has severe effects. It causes public controversy forever, so the principles must be robust.

However, as I mentioned in the previous paragraph, Despite there are consistent principles, opponents should have permission to express their opinions. There are some opponents and proponents in every problem. Someone can find the best solution when all the evidence has gathered. Opponents and proponents express their opinions, and these ideas can help political leaders to find the best solution.

In sum, In my opinion, all political leaders must take precise objectives so that everyone can trace these objectives. Also, it should be a reasonable time and situation for opponents to express their ideas.