Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

The debate between the role of morality and logical reasoning in teaching instructions may well be a heated one. Some may argue that morality should be left for churches or religion. But, any education that focuses solely on logical reasoning without moral training is not complete.

It is true that young people form most of their habits and ideologies from childhood into adulthood. During childhood, they are pliable. They can be set straight and be taught the right way to go. And in most part of the world, children begin to form certain habits and worldviews from elementary schools. Now,if we base education only on logical reasoning, we cannot simply hope that these children will automatically develop their moral senses along the way. A child who sees nothing wrong with stealing from childhood may well ratiocinate that stealing is not an ignoble thing since he or she has not been instructed otherwise.

Therefore, a person whose foundation has been based on pure logic will continue that rationalize his behaviours whether good or bad. It has even been said by certain psychologists that when somebody commit crime, even after they are caught, they still believe they are doing the right thing.

Moreover, the view that basing teaching on a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society is even more disturbing. Many corrupt and unscrupulous businessmen and politicians all over the world today are not just those with avant garde education, but also those with impeccable academic credentials. What that tells us is that there is no causal relationship between logical reasoning and morality-both areas are independent.For instance, a child that is taught about the principle of electromagnetic induction may as well grasp the specificity of such field, but will that automatically make that child not to engage in ignoble acts?

Ultimately, logical reasoning and morality should not be mutually exclusive. A complete education should make pupils ratiocinate and reason logically about issues and at the same instruct about teachings on right and wrong.