Some people believe that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student s field of study Others believe that universities should not force students to take any courses other than those that will help prepare the

It has long been discussed that whether university student should take a variety of courses outside their field of study. In my opinion, I totally agree to force students take different courses besides their majored field. Students learn to solve problems from another angles by taking different courses. I feel vehemently this way for two reasons which I will endeavor to argue in the following essay.

First of all, most students find their truly interest by taking various courses, and if they have decided wrong field of study, they have chance to explore other fields. For instance, some university let their freshmen take courses before deciding their major. Freshmen can take any courses they are interested in and choose their major when they become sophomore.

In addition, a class with diversity brings unprecedented ideas. In my personal experience, I, a business school student, once took a design course, color theory, when I was a junior in university. We had medical students, engineering students and business students in our group. Every time, the group discussion was like a brain storming. All members saw the topic in different sides, and it turned out to be a holistic answer to solve the problem. Eventually, all of us got A for this course, and we learn a lot from others.

However, some may not agree with me. As some field of study requires intensive training to become professional. For example, to be a certified public accountant, university students are required to take enough related courses to sit for the examinations. In the US, that means around 130 credits during the four-year university life. As a result, students majored in accounting may not have enough chance to taking other unrelated courses. If they had thought thoroughly before decided accounting to be their major, immersing in the business classes equips them to skills to adapt themself smoothly in the real business world for sure. If not, that will be a torture for those students.

In essence, university should require students to take various courses to explore their own interest, and slove problem from other perspectives. The sky’s the limit. University student should seize their opportunity to find their career path or calling during the school time. School is like a playground that students have unlimited chances to fail and still can try again at little cost.