Strong beliefs prevent people from thinking clearly about issues.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

it is not a secret that having beliefs have been a tenet component in human’s lives. The author asserts that going for strong beliefs unable people to think clearly. As far as I am concerned, I cannot agree more with this statement because of the two main reasons that I will elaborate on the following paragraphs.

To start with, it should be mentioned that not all beliefs are come from thinking issues thorough, and they are merely passed along to people by their ancestors. Therefore, many of believers do not exactly know what they have faith in, and that specific concept cannot be reliable. For instance, during the medieval years in Europe, people thought that the church and priest are god’s authorities on the Earth, and have the right to interfere with peoples’ lives. The origin of this perspective can be identified by looking closer to that time and happenings then. since Cardinals and priests were benefited from having control on people’s lives, they tried to extend the “belief” that God has made them responsible for mundane life of people. so, by sanctioning the right of being educated and doing researches, people were not skilled in critical thinking and finding out new things. it can be inferred from the example that strong beliefs are usually based on some other reasons and deprive individuals from analyzing subjects.

another noteworthy reason that vindicates my point is that since thinking about issues demands will have some consequences and some results might change people’s lives, some people prefer to cling to some solid ideas (in their opinion), because they are afraid of change. Additionally, many of them do not have the heart to accept that they have been wrong all this time, and they have to let the old idea go. consider a person who believes an experiment for testing a cure cannot be conducted on humans because it is messing with god’s will and those ill people are doomed to die. this person probably will not consider the fact that by doing experiments health will be omnipresent in the society, and he has been mistaking all the time. As a result, he wants to stick with the idea of his belief is right rather than face others blaming him for refusing to do so. it could be another reason that powerful convictions forbore people from thinking in a patent way.

However, some people might adhere to the idea that strong beliefs are crucial for human’s ethics, and keeps them away from moral corruption. On the other hand one should take into account that the value of ideologies must be reexamined once in a while, because over time, some principles change, and are not authoritative any more.

To bring everything into conclusion, I firmly am of the view that rooting for a strong idea will stop people thinking conspicuously because there are some evidences in history to prove it, and people are frightened to change their minds.