The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but the general welfare of all its people

There have been various indicators present to mark the development of the country as a whole. But is there any universal indicator present to indicate the development? Well the answer is yes. Now, usuallly it is considered that the more country is reknowned the more developed and independent it is. A country can grow to fame just by a few inventions (by research) and having the origin of some great litreature. We can clearly see that such a prediction is really based on some baseless evidence.

A good indicator is the one that takes into account the whole population of the country and then compares. There could be a case in which the country has produced some fine talents in any one particular field but lacks in all other respects. For instance, the economic diversity in the country is very high, such that the rich litreally rule over the poor, causing more economic imbalance. In such nations, the only result is that the rich become more richer and the poor become poorer, further leading to corruption and cases like that. Such a nation isn't a happy nation.

Another intance of a similar aspect could be the division on the basis of race and caste. Such a nation is not utilizing the potential present in its citizens. All people aren't being offered an equal oppurtiunity and favouritism is present in the country. This is not at all an indication of a great nation.

Some good indicators can be per capita income of the people (stating if they are able to sustain themselves or not) and the hapiness factor. Recently a study based on the hapiness of the people, declared Bangladesh as the happiest country in the world. It is a fact to be appreciated that even though with low levels of GDP and per capita income the maximum population is happy. Could they be called a great nation?

Achievements of a few citizens will surely land the nation among great standing but we need to ask the quesion, is it fair to strip the people off of their rights and concenterate just on a few people. Is it fair of us to uplift the already uplifted at the cost of the people's basic necessities and requirements? The answer is no. A great nation can only be defined if it develops as a whole. Every citizen of the country should be aware of their findamental rights and duties and follow them without any question.

The point is that for any nation to develop the nost priority should be given to the upliftment of the lower communities. The focus should be on the general level of the people. And thus, this should be considered as a valid indicator.