"The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but the general welfare of all its people."

The greatness of a nation largely depends on it’s mass people and so the general welfare of all it’s people rather than the achievements of it’s rulers ,artists or scientists, being the indicator of such virtue is more plausible.

To be called great ,a nation must meet some criterias.it needs to be enriched in respect of culture ,economy and society. All these aspects require general welfare of mass people to be nourished and enriched. So, it is undeniable that greatness of a nation depends on general welfare of it’s people.

On the other hand,the achievements of the nation’s rulers,artists or scientists play a vital role to build the nation and enrich it socially,culturally and economically,there is no doubt about that.But all these accolades will bear an effect in bulding a great nation only if these achievements bring the nation different forms of prosperity and welfare.

It is true that history recognizes the great nations like greeks,romans through the achivements of it’s scholars.But all those achievements weren’t mere achievements.Rather all those gains in one way or another lead the nation through a process of welfare.the reigns of great emperors , the masterpieces of artists like Ven Gogh or the great inventions of scientists like Tomas Alva D Edison are nothing if they didn’t take their nation to the road of prosperity along with them.

It is therefore spurious that the surest indicator of the greatness of a nation not the achievements of its rulers , artists or scientists but the general welfare of all its people.