The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The speaker asserts that the general welfare of people is the only one surest indicator representing great nation. However, scientists, leaders, and artists’ achievements can also be an indicator reflecting general welfare. Then, scientists, artists, and leaders’ achievements can also represent the great nation; So, I strongly disagree with the speaker.

To begin with, the surest indicator is also represented by the achievement of its scientists, since scientists’ achievements enhance the quality of life, which is one of the general welfare. Scientists invent many stuffs that make people’s life convenient; Such a convenient invention is another way bringing general welfare to people. For example, Prof. Chenming Hu, the Berkeley’s professor, invents the special structure of transistor: FinFET. His invention make cellphones, computers, and other personal electronic devices progressing without stopping. With the progressing electronic devices, people’s quality of life is increasing. In a word, the achievements of scientists is also an indicator of general welfare.

In addition to scientists, politicians’ achievements are also an indicator of general welfare, because people benefit from effective policies. Using effective policies, efficient leaders make their country prosperous. If the problems emerge, such as financial crisis, leaders must find out the main problems to solve the emergency problems. With such a greatness leader and his or her policies, the country’s people can get a happy life. For instance, Obama is a greatness leader. In his presidency, he addressed the global financial crisis and included a major stimulus package, including legislation to reform health care and major financial regulation reform bill. Through his policies, people get a relative stable life. In sum, rulers’ achievements are one of the indicator representing the general welfare.

On the other hand, artists’ achievements exercise an influence on people’s general welfare. Sometimes, artists’ works can reflect the defect of the country; With their works, governments can realize what is lacking in the country. Willian Shakespeare can be an illustration; His works was a critical reading data, reflecting the real society in English. Understanding people’s requirements through his works, governments facilitated management of country in his time. In a brief, artists’ achievements can be an indicator of general welfare, since it would influence people’s life.

To sum up, the achievements of leaders, artists, and scientists can be an surest indicator representing people’s general welfare. Scientists’ inventions, leaders’ effective policies, and artists’ works have an positive effect on general welfare of people; Therefore, I totally disagree with what the speaker says.