The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

A nation is not defined merely by its land or boundaries but by it's citizens. Even the wealthiest countries have always given importance to the welfare of its people. I disagree with the fact that rulers, artists or scientists represent the greatness of a nation.

Nowadays, most countries are run by governments unlike some where the monarchies still exist. The rulers, if I might, can be the highermost officials of the government who oversee all its activities. These governments, especially if its democratic, are fuelled by the money of a layman. So if the general prosperity of the residents are not taken into account, the governments struggle to function which inturn deters the nation's growth. A scientific research, to be successfully carried out needs funding, bulk of which usually comes from the governments. Hence, scientists are also trasitively dependent on the common folk. Similar is the case with artists, whose job is to appease the masses and get paid in return to the quality of their work.

Mahatma Gandhi, the father of India, once said that "Praise the soldier, Praise the farmer" because it cannot be denied that these two are the backbones of any nation. One third of the entire world's population is suffering from hunger, which is enough to validate the fact that a farmer plays an imminent role in supporting a nation. Likewise, each person has a important role to play and contributes to the overall growth of a country, no matter how small the contribution might be. Be it an engineer, a lawyer, a doctor, a social worker, or an athlete, their achievements can indeed make a nation proud. However, is it also important to recognize the contribution of scientists and their inventions in improving the quality of life of the public.

While it might be presumptuous to say that a small minority represents the entire nation, we can safely say that comprehensive growth of all the residents of a nation pays well on the longer run.