The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

The topic states that the best indicator of a great nation is the general welfare of its people and not the achievements of its rulers, artists or scientists. I believe this is true, because a nation is made up by its people, and it is illogical to base a country’s greatness to a single person or the pioneers of the country.

Firstly, when is a nation considered to be ‘great’? Is it when they’ve made a mark on the history or when the people of the nation have the basic human necessities? For instance, Finland is a country in the Scandinavian region of Northern Europe and it is considered to be the happiest country in the world. One of the major reasons: they came up with a pragmatic solution for homelessness, something that has been haunting the United States for the recent decades. The Finnish people alleviated this problem by satisfying the basic necessities first, like providing a housing first, then focusing on improving the livelihood of the person. The government also underwrites a small part of their rent for the first few months. On the contrary, to become a homeowner in United States, the individual has to prove to the government that he is fit for a house. This comes in the form of various tests and the bar to clear them is pretty high. Additionally, the Finnish infrastructure is in a league of its own, with free education and healthcare for everyone. Therefore, to reiterate my point, the morale of the general populace is one of the most distinct gauges to define the nation’s greatness.

However, is it the only way to gauge a country’s greatness? The pioneers of the country can also make it great by achieving feats that progressed whole of mankind. For instance, Germany is a country in Central Europe that has created scientists like Albert Einstein, hailed to be one of the greatest physicists of all time. His contribution to physics has leaded the people of every nation to have a better understanding on the concepts of quantum mechanics and theory of relativity, which has helped the mankind in a lot of way: ranging from effectively utilizing solar energy to understanding the origins of the universe. If it weren’t for Einstein’s discoveries, we would have been on square one for our battle against climate change and wouldn’t have considered other planets to settle. But, the countries greatness is also diminished if the leaders of country are wicked. Using the previous example of Germany, it was also the country where the dictator Adolf Hitler rose to power and was the cause of The Holocaust, which has been black mark in the world history. In addition to that, he was one of the reasons for the rise of World War 2, a war that caused great suffering all over the world. Thousands were stripped from their livelihoods and millions were robbed of their lives. Hence, leaders can also diminish the country’s greatness.

To recapitulate, a nation’s greatness depends on the welfare of the people and not the pioneers of the country. While the pioneers do help in the advancement of the human population, it is fallacious to assume that that alone makes a country great. All countries have exceptional people but to base the countries greatness to them alone is unjustifiable.