The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Each country have scientists, artists and rulers, but the general people also contribute in the development and welfare of their country. People of the country helps the nation become a developed nation. Welfare of people is an important aspect for an indication of a great nation.

The standard of living of people in a country contributes towards a great nation. Developed countries have high wages for labours which results higher standard of living. High wages will reduce poverty of the nation. Developed countries have high number of businessmen and entrepreneurs.They bring up new opportunites and opens up new jobs for people of the nation. Entrepreneurs and Businessmen have a huge contribution towards the the development of the nation.

Each country’s happiness can be found out from happiness index. A lot of countries have very low index. People of their countries are unhappy to live in that nation. Irregular and strenuous working hours can reduce the happiness index. Lot of work load and very less break reduce the productivity of a person. For the welfare of the nation, government have to make rules regarding the working hours of an organisation

Safety is one of the most important factor. Some countries like India, it is unsafe for a woman to travel alone at night. Being an Indian woman, I think the nation will become developed and be considered a great nation if each and every citizen feels safe to walk back home at night. Healthcare of a person is very important. Good healthcare facilities and quality medical facilities at an affordable cost will be beneficial for the people of the nation. The nation should work for the people.

Today’s generation has recognised the importance of mental health but not all can afford the expense of visiting a counsellor. The nation should invest more in mental health related issues and promote about it in schools and colleges. Every school, colleges and office should have a counsellor to whom a student,teacher or a worker can consult to and be able to take care of his/her mental health.

Each country have unique and different cultures. Country like India, where each state have different festivals,food and language should promote their culture and try to prosper it. The agility of cultural aspect also brings up the welfare of the citizen and other countries can learn about it too.

A great nation is a nation that works for the people and by the people. Each and every person contributes towards the nation.Not just scientists,artists or rulers but teachers,students and businessmen contribute equally. A country will only develop if it gives more importance to its people and welfare of them and their families.