The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

especially in our time, what determines the greatness of a nation is rather to be situated in international recognition and interpretation. While well-being of its people and keeping them content is an irrefutable condition of maintaining a country, it is not sufficient to achieve leading reputation within the international community. In that respect, it’s the pioneering few with outstanding talent who earns the nation unmistakable distinction and in turn establish a firm foundation for the nation to prosper.

Historically, a country’s wax and wane have been determined by how to manage its people satisfied and therefore amenable. discontented mass sometimes rises to subvert the government, hamper policy-making process or bring division across the nation. consider Free Trade agreement in 2010 in Korea, where the public displayed great anxiety towards what is imported with softer regulations, and the government as well failed in transparently making public the items to be imported and persuading people with underpinning explanation of the beneficial aspect of the agreement. As the public sentiments exacerbated, a series of demonstration mounted where the police and the public confronted with violence, causing a significant delay in concluding the agreement.

Despite the fact that great discontent of the people causes a state-level dishonour and further derogation of the nation's external reputation, the opposite end of public sentiments doesn’t always earn it a sterling label for a great nation. rather, based on the well managed being of the people, becoming a great nation has been a matter of interrelationship between other nations. it has been a relatively few people who succeeded in bringing recognisable reputation by winning prestigious prizes in their field, bringing about prescient policies or taking part at authoritative award ceremony. In the politic sector especially, ironically it’s a few seasoned officials who sense public sentiments and have authority to establish adequate policies. Accumulation of thoughtfully considered economic policies can even lead the country into the G20 line-up, which is the most evident and objective indicator of a nation’s splendor. In private sector, as Samsung semiconductor department well illustrates, often it’s the few talented individuals in researching force whose contribution becomes a useful intellectual asset that will be the core force in developing new products and in turn bring the nation billions of profit.

Summing it up, it is irrefutable that the basic requirement of being a great nation is to manage its people’s well-being by making them content, and that its disturbance may cause the nation in a precarious state. Nonetheless, in our time where a status of a nation is assessed in an international manner, it’s the contribution of those few people working in their own fields that becomes the main driving force to move the country forward.