The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Yes , the surest indicator of a great nation is represented by general welfare of a nation's people.

A nation is formed by the people and for the people , A Nation's wealth , pride , legacy and it's status are all determined by

people of a nation.I strongly advocate that a nation with a ruler who is concerned for the welfare of people will be a great nation forever

this can be refuted with various examples.

A ruler of country can achieve a lot , but if the achievments are no way relevent to welfare of citizen or to the nation , its no way a an achievement for ruler rather an achievment for an individual.

one must keep this mind,A ruler is different from an individual, a ruler can be defined as a mother of nation taking care thier scions same applies for the scientist.

firstly , when the welfare of people becomes a primacy of ruler , the people themselves gets motivated to do something back for the nation

that cares a lot about a person , this eventually lead to the development of nation by working diligently to burgeon the nation's legacy and growth.

for example , consider bhutan , bhutan is the one and only nation with no poverty and mendicants. the king himself bestows refugee or homless people with land,

and cattle. when a nation like this so concerned for you.for one hundred percent sure, the citizen will show back a great reverence for the king and nation.

this tacits the characteristic of a true ruler , despotic is not a true ruler ship. the people they themselves should show thier veneration from heart rather than from compulsion.

not only this but also free health service, and a lot more. what else can a ruler do. not only bhutan even a lot of countries have passed policies for the welfare of people and

it's evident, that those countries with such a welfare are more developed. obviously, poeple starts moving to country with such policies and eventually the gdp and economy of the nation flourshes.

in terse more the welfare concomittantly becomes a more developed country.

i conclude with the facts and evidences that great nation is not determined by the prowess of king or achievements of scientists but by the welfare of a people which eventually road towards a great nation.