Technology and society

The mass media and the internet have helped billions of people around the globe to connect with one another, which makes it easy to pass important information within minutes. Despite this, it has also caused a lot of harm, which is the reason why I mostly disagree with the author that while people are less able to focus on one thing due to mass media and the internet, they make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what is important based on four reasons, which I will be discussing in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, In the process of trying to get important information on the internet, one could be carried away or distracted by something else that may seem appealing to one. For instance, Mabel seeks to get some important information on some websites that she needs to complete an assignment that will be due in two days' time, in the process of gathering that information, she stumbled on a website that contains the information she needs and ads of different shoes, because Mabel loves shoes, she will definitely click the link that leads to the page where the shoes are being sold, after perusing the website for a very long time, she just keeps seeing more and more things she likes, and she eventually forgot for quite a long time on her primary purpose of checking the internet, this shows that it is easy to lose one focus when using the internet.

Secondly, A lot of time could be wasted and one could end up bored when trying to sort through large quantities of information, which could lead to the truncation of the build-up of the enhanced ability to sort large quantities of information to locate those that are important. For instance, Sangchi desires to know the right foods that will cause his body to be developed better, while looking through the internet he got a lot of information on what he could be doing, the kinds of food he should be eating to develop better, in the process of sifting the wheat from the dirt, he had almost spent the whole day, and he had not gotten adequate information on all he needs, he will have to stop after some time to do something else. He will have saved a lot of time and stress if had just paid a visit to his doctor instead of using up so much time with getting all he needs.

Thirdly, The internet improves one ability to check out multiple things almost at the same time, but this also may result in the ability one to focus on one thing to reduce. For instance, someone that is used to juggling between multiple sites at the same time searching for different things might end up missing out on the most important points and information, and it will be difficult for the person to follow one trail of information path.

Lastly, the media and the internet play a major role in development and enhancement, but it has to be adequately managed with rules in place. For instance, the example of Mabel which I gave in the first paragraph of this write-up, would have been able to focus on her assignment if she had personal rules that she obeys, that does not allow her to move to something else except she has completed the task that she has been given per time.

In conclusion, with these few points of mine, I have shown the extent to which I disagree with the claims of the author, by supporting my position with three points which are In the process of trying to get important information on the internet, one could be carried away or distracted by something else that may seem appealing to one, A lot of time could be wasted and one could end up bored when trying to sort through large quantities of information, which could lead to the truncation of the build-up of the enhanced ability to sort large quantities of information to locate those that are important and I can not deny the fact that the internet can also help enhance the ability of humans to focus on one thing if it is properly managed.