True success can be measured primarily in terms of the goals one sets for oneself.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you ta

This is a widely acknowledged concept that the true measure of success is primarily in terms of the goals one sets for oneself. It is easy to lose sight of this and we often get distracted by the amount of things achieved by others or expectations set upon us by society and we being to judge this as a measure of success for ourselves.

From the very beginning we have been subjected to certain expectations and some goals have been set for us. It is expected to get good grades so that we could have an illustrious academic career which would in turn help us to get in a college of our choice. This would help us graduate from a respectable institute and would pave the way for prime job offers. Securing a cushy job at a huge firm would help us take the first step towards a financially secure an independent future. Even before a child could fathom what a financially secure future means, baby steps are taken towards that goal.

However, these conventional set of goals may not be every single person's dream to achieve and to keep up with that goal may lead to an extreme sense of dejection and lead to a broken spirit. It could also happen that the person is successful at achieving all of such goals that have been set for him. To an outsider that may seem as a successful career and a successful life altogether. However, that does not ensure happiness or creative growth or a will to excel on an individual level and the pursuit of true success is lost.

One should hence, set goals for oneself instead of blindly pursuing targets in hopes of achieving them to be successful. For example, if someone is more artsy and is inclined towards pursuing arts but is being pressurized by one's parents to pursue science since that would ensure a more secure and successful career. The choice would lie as to what exactly measures true success - goals that one would set for oneself or the preconceived notions and expectations set by society. By making this choice the person would ensure achieving the goals with more enthusiasm and positivity. By giving a hundred percent of one's effort, true success would only be a matter of time.

The conclusion is that success is subjective and true success can only be measured with respect to the goals one sets for oneself and not one imposed by anyone else.