Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won’t benefit their future careers.

The statement is comprehensive and conveys the meaning explicitly. It says that the students pursuing Business or Science as their major should not be required to study subjects of Humanities as it will not benefit them in their future careers. I strongly agree with the statement is it is apt in its meaning. Studying science or business is not a walk in the park for anyone rather, it requires extensive research and focused study to comprehend the theories and its practical applications. It would be absolutely an encumbrance for the students of science or business studies to take up the extra pressure of studying humanities.

Further, students of science and business are morphed in a specific way which makes them more equipped at learning concepts and its applications. Humanities undoubtedly require a disparate approach of studying which the students of science and business are not accustomed to. In the current world of technology, students are already burdened with a myriad of courses of their specifications and making them study humanities courses would further their ordeal.

Albeit, some courses of humanities might be advantageous to the people of other majors as worldly knowledge is vital to some extent as well. But, in most cases, this would result in extra pressure being added to the students of science or business. People might argue that to thrive, one must know every aspect of the world, not just the core of their specification. This holds to an extent as the history of how things changed or the laws of the country a person is living in are important for the well-being of a civilian. However, this can be accounted for by motivating and encouraging the students of science and business to develop a habit of reading newspapers and learn about history and geography briefly. Most companies in this era conduct a general knowledge round of test or question the candidates regarding various worldly matters as a part of the selection process. This, in turn, made most of the students of science and business aware and engage in learning subjects apart from their courses.

Students of science and business should hence be motivated to study subjects apart from their courses in their free time rather than forcing them to study the subjects of humanities as a part of the curriculum which will eventually put extra pressure on the students. In a nutshell, the students majoring in science and business should not be burdened to study humanities as a part of their curriculum.