To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities

In today’s contemporary and fast paced world, it is true that the major cities play a pivotal role in understanding the characteristics of the society. However, the authors claim that, to study the characteristics of a society one must only study major cities is not completely fair. Let us look further into it.

There are countries whose major population lives in the rural or smaller areas. A country like India where 70% of the people basically live in smaller towns and rural areas, only gives a partial picture of the characteristics of the society. There is a huge cultural difference in between the people in rural areas and the cities due to lack of education and exposure. For example, in many rural areas inter-caste marriages or love marriages are still prohibited or not considered as good as compared to cities where love marriages are accepted.

Secondly, one cannot get complete characteristics of a society by just studying its major cities and not exploring other parts. For example, Paris is considered as fashion capital of the world, but one cannot completely define the characterizes of the French society only based on fashion. There are other things such as Cheese, wine, etc which are also important parts of the French society but they are mostly found in the bucolic areas and not major cities.

However, most of the colleges, universities are only in the major cities and intellectual output is a major part in understanding the characteristics of the society which cannot be understood in the rural areas.

So Major cities will provide some traits about the characteristics of the society but it will give only the partial information. To fully understand the characteristics of the society both rural as well as urban areas must be considered.