Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels

The argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily the argument is based on the claim that, there has been a significant decrease in the number of shoppers at the plaza due to increase in the skateboarding in the past years.

The argument fails to provide justification about the number of shoppers who's businesses have decreased. For one, it may be a case that there are very few business owners who's business is affected. There may be some other reasons for the decrease in the number of shoppers at the plaza. The argument should have provided the information about the number of Plaza Store owners who's business significantly reduced in the past 2 years.

The argument also leaves many unanswered questions, the plaza store owners blame skateboarders for vandalism and amount of litter in the plaza. The argument should have provided information about the number of skateboarders involved in the plaza. It may be a case that the litter and vandalism is not because of the skateboarders but because of people who visit the plaza.

The business owners fully blame skateboarders for decrease in their business. The argument without any warrant blames skateboarders for reducing businesses. There may be a situation that in past 2 years some different shopping mall or a plaza is recently opened nearby and hence many people visit the new plaza rather than old one.

Finally, the shop owners claim that prohibiting skateboarding will increase their business, but the city should fully analyze the situation and then take suitable actions as there are several assumptions made into this argument and hence fails to convince the case.