Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Educational institutes play a pivotal role in the overall development of a person. The educational institutes are responsible for providing quality education to the students in their particular field of choosing. But I disagree with the claim that the Educational institutions have the responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing the fields of study which they are unlikely to succeed.

Firstly, the Educational institutes have no right to judge a person and make decisions for the person. According to me the field of study should be only chosen by the student depending on the passion and other factors. If you choose a field of study which abreast with your passion, you are definitely going to be successful in some or other way. The definition of success is different for different individuals, like for some success means more money and fame but for others, success means social recognition.

For example, consider Apples Founder Steve jobs, he left college in his first year with no clue of what he will be doing and his passion to earn more money led to building of an integrated computer which we all ended up loving it. If his professors had dissuaded him, we may have never seen Apple to grow into such a huge company. It is completely dependent on the individual to choose the field of study and the educational institutes have the responsibility to bolster students in their path. For example if a student comes from a poor family and he has to pursue a particular field in which he is not passionate about, in order to be a breadwinner for the family so instead of dissuading him in his paths educational institutes should make an effort to open more opportunities and to encourage the student to continue, by doing this it may be the case that student becomes passionate about the field as he supporting his family and for him that is success.

In conclusion, it is up to individual to choose the field of study and educational institutes should support the student in his endeavours.